Originally Posted by
MayorBeluga
If I'm reading this right (insert snide comment here), the rule can lead to a mega cluster.
Imagine that instead of being down 2, MU is down 3. Carlino's three ties the game and Creighton opts not to call timeout and instead runs down court. Being tied, Marquette does not foul and Creighton misses the shot. OT, right? Wait, so time expiring is the first dead ball and John "Inept" Gaffney and Mike "Ted Valentine is my idol" Stephens go to the monitor and determine the shot was a 2. Result, Creighton wins.
Clearly, MU would have fouled immediately if they are down 2 but instead played D because the refs ruled it a 3 and the rules don't allow the refs to check right away.
Query: Do the rules allow the refs to stop play and check in this instance? Or does the "and the ball becomes dead after a successful goal" mean they can check right then as the clock stops after a made field goal in the final minute? If not, a big part of me wants this scenario to happen in a National Championship game. Imagine the uproar. Heh.