PDA

View Full Version : Basketball experience

Mucrisco
03-03-2014, 02:40 PM
It seems that people are still on edge around here. I like to bring up this topic every few years for fun, and we might need a distraction before our next couple of tense weeks in Marquette basketball.

What types of basketball experience do you have? Did you play? Have you coached?

I had played basketball since kindergarten. I played four years of varsity basketball in HS, then went on to be a practice player with the women's team at Marquette. That led to becoming a manager for Terri's team, then the head manager. After that, I have been coaching for over 10 years of high school basketball and one as an AAU coach. This year, in addition to coaching high school, I have started my own AAU program, the Wisconsin Havoc. I watch a ton of basketball, but not the NBA. I've probably watched a total of NBA basketball for five minutes this year. For this year, I probably have watched at least 10 games in person, since last May. In addition to that, I'll watch as much college basketball on TV, as I can.

I look forward to hearing everyone's response.

We are Marquette!

Alan Bykowski, "brewcity77"
03-03-2014, 02:51 PM
I only played through 8th grade, but didn't have near the ability to go further than that. Watched a ton of NBA in my younger days, now watch as much CBB as I can. No formal coaching experience.

WindyCityGoldenEagle
03-03-2014, 03:27 PM
Fun topic.
Bball was always my favorite sport and still is. Had a few D3 bball offers but decided to play soccer at Marquette. I still play bball in a fairly competitive league (got waxed by 3/5 of keno davis' drake team last year lol).

I have a lot of respect for those who've coached - I've never coached and honestly don't think I'd be a good one - would be too impatient and demanding. Love the game but don't watch as much as I'd like to.

Also like sunset walks on the beach and having poetry read to me. :)

pbiflyer
03-03-2014, 04:11 PM